Valley of the nightingales

  • Last connection:
  • Listing added on:
  • Age:
  • Motto:
  • I speak:
  • Looking for skills in:
  • Available to host:
  • Hours of work expected per day:
  • Days of work expected per week:
    • Internet provided:
    • Smokers in the house:
    • Family friendly:
    • We have pets:

    You need to be logged in as a helper to have full access to the map’s functionalities

    About me

    In January 2020 after 16 years of living in the UK, I moved back to Hungary with two cats . I was longing after a garden and a more natural peaceful living. So I left the rat race and started a brand new chapter of my life in a picturesque village in the heart of Cserehat.

    My place

    I live in a dead end village in a valley with a small dog and three cats. The village has 19 houses but only two are occupied full time. It is very peaceful and quiet, a perfect location for someone who likes nature, fresh air and bird songs :) . The nearest town where I mostly go shopping is Encs (20km). And the nearest big city is Miskolc, about an hour drive away.


    I live in an old traditional rammed earth house, of which I am  renovating by replastering with cob.  Also planning to build a little  cob house this summer, because this is what I want to teach people how to do themselves.  I would like to show them that it is do-able and not as difficult  as it sounds so they wouldn't  have to pay years of mortgage, live in an unhealthy environment etc. Moreover, I would like them to pass on the knowledge of natural building techniques to the next generation.  This is the main  plan but I have mooore :) I would like to : build an online community, write a book on how to build a cob house in Hungarian, build a pizza oven, an outside shower,  (I built a composting toilet this winter) I would like to organise courses to teach how to build a round hut for chicken, a pizza oven and basic plastering and willow weaving skills.   Therefore, I need all sort of help with many skills for ongoing  projects, which all based on natural, environmentally friendly approach..   I also have a huge vegetable and flower garden to work on and maintain.   So this is it. I'm going with the flow and have faith that the universe will provide me with everything I need.  


    Sleeping is either in the house or in tents. Note that the house has an open plan, there are no separate bedrooms and the animals are sleeping in the house. I have a new bathroom, a functional kitchen, and an outside composting toilet. Internet. Washing machine.


    Mainly vegetarian. We will manage from the garden and together.


    Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
    Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec