Sam

Sustainable Tourism

  • Last connection:
  • Listing added on:
  • Age:
  • We speak:
  • Looking for skills in:
  • Available to host:
  • Hours of work expected per day:
  • Days of work expected per week:
    • Internet provided:
    • Smokers in the house:
    • Family friendly:
    • We have pets:



    You need to be logged in as a helper to have full access to the map’s functionalities





    About us

    Sam, Who moved from England to the farm in South Spain 20 years ago to be able to live a life closer to nature and be as self sustainable as posible. Bobby, Sam's mom, originally from America, moved to Europe as a young girl in the sixties, travelling around the world to end up in England, Wales for a long time. A year after Sam moved to Spain, she decided to follow. Sally, Sam's partner, Belgian, moved to Spain 25 years ago, lives in Malaga, working with adults with an intellectual disabillity, not at the farm permanently, but as much as she possibly can.


    My place

    We are located in Castillo de Locubin, a small town in Jaen, in between Cordoba and Granada, Andalucia. The farm is located in an valley nearby the natural springs of the river San Juan. El nacimiento del Rio San Juan.


    Projects

    Our farm is a traditional olive farm, so in winter we have a traditional olive harvest, but to be able to make a living through the rest of the year, in summer we rent out accomodation (two yurts, two cob huts and a Casita built out of recycled material. We have a veg garden, various different fruit trees, we are interested in natural medicine, Sam brews his own craft beer, we make wine with our grapes. This autumn/winter (2021) we plan to start renovating an old mill on our land.


    Accommodation

    In the winter season we offer the Casita (open plan living space next to the main house, with own kitchen and bathroom). There is a woodburner for cosy winter evenings (wood provided!) (pictures of the casita in the photos) In summer we offer a caravan next to the main house. The caravan has its own private terrace and kitchen unit, bathroom is shared with the main house.


    Food

    We offer three meals a day, usually we have one meal together and we provide you with the basics for the other meals, but we are flexible. We are also flexible about workhours and days, work is often weather dependent too.



    Availability

    2021
    Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec