Permaculture Eco-farm building self sustainability and educational tourism farm

  • Last connection:
  • Listing added on:
  • Age:
  • We speak:
  • Looking for skills in:
  • Available to host:
  • Hours of work expected per day:
  • Days of work expected per week:
    • Internet provided:
    • Smokers in the house:
    • Family friendly:
    • We have pets:

    You need to be logged in as a helper to have full access to the map’s functionalities

    About us

    We are an international family working on our own permaculture homestead and dream in the countryside of Toledo, after doing our Pdc (permaculture & natural building certificate course) in Thailand in 2017. We both have travelled intensively in the past 15 years, my husband is from canada and speaks english and basic spanish, while I am swiss-italian and speaks fluent english, french, italian and spanish. We have two daughters, Faye who is 3 years old and Enaya, who is just a few months old, and our farm family includes our two sweet dogs, Skaila an australian shepperd and Asoka her daughter crossed with a Bordie Collie, 6 goats and a few chickens and ducks. Our family speaks english on a daily basis, although I do try and speak French as much as possible to our daughters. We love laughing and enjoying the beauty of life and nature, we are animal and board game lovers, and we are trying to build our homestead dream day after day. We both work from home most of the time, as a family photographer and as an online english teacher, and we are working on our farm to regenerate the soil and bring it from the organic farm it was with it's previous owner (which had not cultivated anything for the last four years before we bought it) to a permaculture oasis. We cannot wait to have you as part of our family!

    My place

    Car/driving licence is not a must, but might be nice for you, since we are in full countryside, surrounded by almond and olive tree fields. Nearest village is 3km of unpaved road away, and has all the basics (population 750), and we are about 40 minutes drive to Toledo.


    We are now on our 3rd year here, so quite a few projects have been started already, most are still work in progress, while some are getting established. In the next year, we plan on implementing some natural building techniques to build our self watering raised beds, keep extending our food forest, continue the work to regenerate our soil, build a workspace in our warehouse and setup a proper area for our volonteers in the warehouse, including a kitchen area, compost toilet and one bedroom, develop our social networks and marketing, all while trying to keep creating community with our neightboors. We have a lot of fruits (plums, figs, peaches, grapes, apples, pears) and nuts trees (almonds, walnuts) on our 3.5 acres land as well as our own 3 water wells, and have been working hard on creating a big food forest as well as some areas of vegetable garden. It is a magical and beautiful spot and there is still a lot of work ahead of us!


    We currently tend to host 1-2 people at the same time, couples and families are particularly welcome, and ideally someone that would also be ok in occasionally helping us with our daughter, and we offer stay option in tent or in the warehouse room. We usually share meals together and share the household duties like cooking and cleaning dishes on a rotation schedule, on top of the 25-30h work we expect with the farm work in exchange for food and accomodation.


    We eat non-vegetarian, but usually try to work around your food requirements, and are happy to work out together vegetarian meal options too, as long as you are respectful of our way of eating too ;) Breakfast is usually do it yourself, while lunch and dinners are eaten together and cooking for those is done by all on rotation


    No availability information has been added yet