Henry

Tapial, Nogal y verduras

  • Last connection:
  • Listing added on:
  • Age:
  • Motto:
  • We speak:
  • Looking for skills in:
  • Available to host:
  • Hours of work expected per day:
  • Days of work expected per week:
    • Internet provided:
    • Smokers in the house:
    • Family friendly:
    • We have pets:



    You need to be logged in as a helper to have full access to the map’s functionalities





    About us

    My wife Jessica and I (Henry) are an international couple with our first 2 children, living in the North of Peru. Henry is a medical veterinarian by trade, specializing in horses. Jessica has her education in preventative wellness and is a stay at home Mom raising our daughters. Horseback riding is our main scope, but family rural life requires all kind of volunteer profile to keep developing. The list of tasks (below) that we need help with is extensive. If you don't have all, or even some, of the skills necessary that is okay. What we are looking for most in a volunteer is willingness to be flexible, ability to be a self starter, desire to learn and overall helpful attitude that fits within a rural family lifestyle. We just purchased our first home and property in the village of Montevideo, which is a small village approximately 1.5 hours away from Chachapoyas. Notes: *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ we ask all potential volunteers to do a Skype meeting. This helps YOU get to know us, and US to know you more. If you don´t have Skype we can communicate via Whatsapp also. *️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️️ both you and I reserve the right to quit the volunteer agreement at any time and for any reason. For this reason we ask all our volunteer to have a back up plan.


    My place

    Our area is considered the Northeast capital of archeological sites...so there is a lot to see in your free time. There are plenty of day or multiple day trips depending on what you want to see. Most sites will require paying for transport. We are at an altitude of approximately 8,000 feet (2,400 meters) and I would describe the weather as 'mountainous' (temperature range goes from 8°C/46.4°F to 22°C/71.6°F) meaning, when the sun is shining it is hot, when there are clouds it is cool, and night can require long pants, shirts and an extra blanket. This of course all depends on the climate you are coming from, and what you are used to. For longer stays we suggest to get a local SIM card and the brand that works better here is from Movistar. Also, there is not cashmachines available in 2 hours away trip from the village, try to get pocket money before you arrive. Rainy season is December - April please come with appropriate clothing.


    Projects

    Our house need new walls in the traditional tapial technic. We are triying to make a reforestation nogal program. To grow fresh Vegetables always requires hands here.


    Accommodation

    Rural rooms + hot water + limited internet


    Food

    Variety (meat + salades + vegetables) and international, but if you also wants to teach us something new, you are always welcome. PD: We have a lot of eggs.



    Availability

    2021
    Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec
    2022
    Jan Feb Mar Apr May Jun Jul Aug Sep Oct Nov Dec